What is Happiness?

“Happiness is never stopping to think if you are.” – Palmer Sondreal

As I got to thinking about the above quote, I decided to pause and give thought to where we are in life at this particular moment in time. Our children are, or at least appear to be, happy and in control of their lives at the moment.

While we all have our little medical idiosyncrasies, none of us have any serious diseases or health problems that cannot be addressed by diet and exercise. 

We still are able to leave the house each morning by 7:35 AM to go and teach our line dance classes five days a week plus the two days we teach at 2 PM. While it is true there are some days we would prefer to lay in bed for those extra thirty minutes or so, truthfully we both feel so much better after we have exercised. So, even though there are other members of our community that would like us to change the starting time, 7:45 AM works well for us and once we have exercised (line danced), we have the balance of the day to do whatever our little hearts’ desire.

Speaking of our community, we live in a very friendly tight-knit community and should anything happen to either one of us, there would always be someone nearby that would check in to see how we were doing and if we needed anything. Same is true of us, should we learn that something is wrong at our neighbors house or that one of our neighbors is sick and needed some type of assistance be it running to the store, driving them to the doctor and so forth, we would be right there for them.

That, I believe is the one reason we stay here where we are and have been since 2006. Years past with the exception of or two particular homes we owned, it has been sort of a ritual with us to move to a new location and house every 2 – 3 years.

But, the older we get, the more comfortable we are living within this environment. The hardest part of this life-style though is the fact that our children are at different corners of the country. With one son and his family living in NE Connecticut, the other son living in southern California and the daughter living within fifteen minutes of us – it is hard to get to see them as often as we would like.

But, fortunately we both still have all of our faculties and are able to make the road trip to CT (with a side trip to PA to see my kid brothers and sisters) at least once and sometimes twice a year. We decided last year however that next time we visit the son in CA it will be via plane and rental car. Traveling across country taking, at a minimum, seven days to get there just doesn’t sound as appealing it did when we were much younger.

So, back to where we are at this point in our lives – knowing that we may eventually reduce the number of trips we make in a year – and having had come across the quote I opened this article with – one begins to ask themselves – are we happy with this life style that has worked so well for us these past ten years or so? Or, do we want to take on a new challenge and consider making a change of sorts.

We have spent quite a few years living near our youngest child and visiting the others – perhaps it is time to live near one of the other children but continue visiting the others. Whenever I hear the word “old” and think of such a possibility – I tend to say to myself – but am I too old to make such a change and if we do – will it work?

If I have learned one thing over the years – it is this – we will never know if something will work until we try. And taking it one step further – it will work if we want it to work. That is one thing we have prided ourselves on over the years – our willingness to look at a problem, dilemma, or proposed change of direction with the thought in mind that says – “Hey – that should be interesting, fun, and something we should do – let’s go for it.”

I must also admit that with such an attitude, most of our crazy ideas have worked out rather well and thus see that I have a bit to ponder on as it might relate to what our next adventure might be.   So with that thought in mind, I will close this article with but one more quote:

“Nothing is more beautiful than the love that has weathered the storms of life. The love of the young for the young, that is the beginning of life. But the love of the old for the old, that is the beginning of things longer.” – Jerome K. Jerome (1859 – 1927)

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is Happiness?

  1. Sounds like you have the ‘Urge for Going’ as Joni Mitchell would say.

    For me, it is hard to believe that it’s been almost a year since the big downsize move that brought us back to the high desert. Closer to family, soaking up the sun, and shed of thousands of pounds of accumulated stuff. I do miss my southern neighborhood, and the Friday night sit a spell porch gatherings.

    Wishing you continued good health, continued happiness, and adventures.

    Wonderful essay. Thank you.

    • iglengel says:

      Thanks JoHanna. At my age, the one thing I like to keep constant in our lives is Happiness – for both myself as well as for all those I come into contact with. Have a great day.

  2. Good luck happy adventure hope you become refreshed

Leave a Reply

