Multipotentialite

What do you want to be when you grow up? Well, if you’re not sure you want to do just one thing for the rest of your life, you’re not alone. I recently came across a website of a person who would describe herself as a combination of artist, entrepreneur, writer, speaker, and coach. That person is Emilie Wapnick and she gave a talk on TED.com wherein she describes the kind of people she calls “multipotentialites” — who have a range of interests and jobs over one lifetime. Are you one?

Did you ever wonder what you might have been had you not gone into the field you did prior to your retirement? Prior to becoming involved with insurance I had many varied jobs. I started my working career in a bakery and after a short stint in the U.S. Army really bounced around various jobs.

I worked as a stock boy in a grocery store, counter clerk in a meat market, arm installer for a furniture manufacturer, don’t recall what my title was in a resin manufacturing plant as it only lasted three days, and worked as a general laborer in two different yarn and dyeing factories. But all that was before becoming a career insurance person.

When she worked, my mother was a sewing machine operator and my father was, for many years, a full-fashioned knitter (making nylon stockings) before being laid off and secured a job in a yarn and dyeing factory. Neither of them ever suggested to any of us children what field we should follow. As a matter of fact, due to the times, none of us children were ever fortunate enough to attain a college degree, although truth be told, achievement of the various insurance designations I have acquired has been said to be the equivalent of a college degree in insurance.

But that did not discourage any of us from forging on and becoming the best that we could be in whatever field we chose to follow. Two of my brothers became machinists, one became a plumber, one sister worked for a bakery for most of her working career, another sister worked in the financial sector for many years and subsequently started her own pet-sitting business due to her affinity for pets and a third sister worked as office manager.

Fact is that they each followed the path that led them to fulfill whatever goals they had at that particular time in their lives. Each of them are now retired and enjoying their retirement years.

But, speaking for myself, and after hearing this talk given by Emilie Wapnick, even though I am retired, I still find myself asking that age old question: “What do I want to be when I grow up?” Am I a “multipotentialite?” Perhaps!

Why do I think that? Because each day I wake, I think to myself that I do not have to be the same thing I was yesterday. Today is the start of a new day. Every day we wake we have the opportunity to explore new things and new interests. At one time since becoming retired, I considered becoming involved with the *Zentangle Method as a form of relaxation. (*The Zentangle Method is an easy-to-learn, relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns.)

Other thoughts that have crossed my mind were that of writing a book which I am happy to say is a goal I actually completed with the publication of my Kindle eBook entitled “Love, Marriage, Retirement, and Gratitude). http://www.amazon.com/Love-Marriage-Retirement-Gratitude-dance-ebook/dp/B016ATOOLU

And then there is the thought of taking up the art of Calligraphy (decorative handwriting or handwritten lettering.) So many thoughts about various things I think I may want to become involved with while still on this earth and in fairly good health.

As much as I enjoy writing the occasional blog and posting to the various sites I blog on, perhaps I should just venture into this uncharted territory…..territory such as the Zentangle Method or perhaps even the art of Calligraphy. Who knows I may be able to quench this desire to be more creative in other ways. After all, once our bodies slow down and we aren’t able to do as much physically, as long as we have kept our minds sharp, we can still continue to be creative in other ways which will also occupy our time. Interesting thought isn’t it!

Perhaps I am a “multipotenialite!”

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Live for Today, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multipotentialite

  1. iglengel says:

    Thanks Johanna for your kind comments.

Leave a Reply

