A Day Late and A Dollar Short!

Day Late

 

 

 

the-almighty-dollar-1239259

Here I am again late with my weekly post. Made me think of the idiom shown as the caption of this piece: A Day Late and A Dollar Short – or in other words:

Action that was taken too late and is too feeble to be of any use! Well, so much for that definition – I am not so sure that my post is too feeble to be of any use. The fact that I am posting something within eight days of my last posting has got to be worth something (I am going to get on a weekly schedule sooner or later – perseverance is the key and I will overcome my tardiness).

Last month we decided to become the reverse of snow birds. Snow birds, if you will recall, are individuals with homes up north who come to the south for the winter. We are going to be North birds – our home is in the south, but we will be coming north for the summer.

It was a good weekend because I got to spend it with my kid brothers, sisters, nephews and a cousin we hadn’t seen in a while. Now that I am getting older, I always feel so much better when I get the chance to spend some time with relatives. One thing I must say – catching up with their latest happenings, humbles you as it makes one realize how good we have it. Some of the things they have been through within the last year is a reminder that things aren’t always greener on the other side of the fence, and the fact we aren’t getting any younger doesn’t help either.

Another nice part about this adventure we recently embarked upon – is that we will now be able to see everyone more often cause instead of being 1100 miles away we are less than 150 miles away even if it is only for four or five months out of the year.  The change of scenery and social activity may be good for our souls as well.

Well, that sums up this post – let’s see if I can prepare for my next post in less than one week.

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Live for Today, The Future, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Day Late and A Dollar Short!

  1. Great very beautifully said, have a great day.

  2. It makes sense to go somewhere cooler for the summer. Be a summer bird! Enjoy and don’t worry about a blogging schedule.

  3. Glad you have come north for the summer, Irwin. That makes a lot of sense since northern summers are so much nicer than in FL. How far north did you come? We have had a lovely July in Maine so far this year. I’ll call you a Sun Bird for escaping the southern heat. Connecting with family is a bonus.

    • iglengel says:

      We came as far as Honesdale, PA to assist our son move from CT. They retired in PA and it is now only several hours for us to visit my kid brothers and sisters while up north and the best part is we can stay with our son instead of using our points to gain access to our time share. Sun Bird is what someone else recently called us due to making this move. Our goal is to spend summers up here and winters back in FL. You are right – connecting with family is a bonus – because even though I am the oldest living sibling (I come from a family of eight children of which there are still six of us around), one never knows what tomorrow might bring and it will be good to get to see my brothers and sisters a bit more often.

  4. Sue says:

    Enjoy your northerly adventures!

Leave a Reply

