Inner Peace

While I prefer to write wild and crazy stuff and material that will make people laugh – today I am taking a more serious approach to my writing (but, fear not, I am definitely not giving up attempting to elicit smiles and laughs from those of you that follow my antics).

Today’s post describes two words: “Inner Peace”

What is meant by “inner peace?” Some would say that ‘inner peace’ refers to “peace of mind” or referring to a state of being mentally and spiritually at peace, with enough knowledge and understanding to keep oneself strong in the face of discord or stress. Being ‘at peace’ is considered by many to be healthy and the opposite of being stressed or anxious.

For whatever reason, when I woke this morning I decided to ‘go back’ to my old routine. By that I mean to take care of ‘me first’ before doing anything else. I have been somewhat lax in my daily routine and have been noticing changes – changes both in my mood; changes in the way my body feels; and well – just changes in my overall view of life – and by change, I mean both what has been and what may be with regards the future.

Some might think that this is a good thing. But……and therein lies the proverbial “but!”

In my situation, without going into a lot of unnecessary detail – the opposite was true. While on the outside, my mood appeared to be upbeat and great but deep down inside raged a small war – a war about what I should be doing versus what I am actually doing!  My body has been giving me signs that – how shall I put this – “all is not right with the world.”

Little things telling me something is not right – both physically and mentally. I have been taking what I would consider to be a ‘cavalier’ attitude of life. “Que sera sera” if you will. You know – the phrase that is used to describe the notion that fate will decide the outcome of a course of events, even if action is taken to try to alter it.

This morning though, call it an epiphany, or quite possibly in my case, a brain fart, I thought of a quote by Cheryl Strayed who said:

“You don’t have a right to the cards you should have been dealt. You have an obligation to play the hell out of the ones you’re holding.”

Thinking about this I decided to get back on track and the first thing I did was get back to my meditation routine and after meditating for fifteen minutes I also resumed my early morning stretching routine. There was a time not too long ago when I did this routine religiously and loved every minute of it because once done – I was ready to face the world no matter what it might throw at me. Time to get back on that saddle!

So, with that thought in mind, once again I am back on track and thus into the reality of “playing the cards I am holding!”

pretendBut, like I said above, the wild and crazy stuff is still to come so hang in there and watch for my next post! 

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Live for Today, Passions, Senior Moments, The Future, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Inner Peace

  1. I agree you have to have a balance between body and soul 👍

  2. I’ve been out of balance for a while now, too and this is a great reminder that small steps can get me back on track. I love the quote about the hand you are dealt. Thanks for the inspiration and of course we humor writers must tackle a serious topic occasionally, right Irwin?

  3. I’ve been out of balance for a while now with sporadic exercise and too much computer/social media time. Great reminders that peace of mind is vital and small steps with some focused time can work wonders to get one back on track. We humor writers have to get serious once in a while, right?

  4. Love your antics even when serious…love the quote ..play hell out of cards you’ve got. Well done on meditation and exercise.

    You know i love meditation daily and more than once a day.

    Inner peace… is calm, contentment, comfortable in chaos, still waters running deep..knowing that it will be okay in time… chilling even in chaos…

    Speak soon..great post as always.. thanks for sharing

  5. What an excellent quote. Well, how are you feeling now? Are you taking care of YOU?

Leave a Reply

