The Aging Process Then & Now!

ageing-gracefully

Have you noticed that once we reach a certain age, things tend to slow down? Even though I usually wake at the same hour and go to bed about the same time every night, for some reason or another I tire more easily these days. As a matter of fact, truth-be-told, I would have to say that I tire more easily now than I did during any other period of my life.

Problem is, I have never been one to take afternoon naps and usually if I get up and move around, the sleepiness tends to disappear. Or, if I occupy my brain by reading a book, or writing in my daily journal – anything to stimulate brain activity (take a walk or do a ten or fifteen minute task) will remove the thought of being tired. As such – no nap is necessary which is not to say that such a nap is bad for you. I personally have never followed such a routine.

Also, for as far back as I can think of, I have always been one of those individuals that is an “up and at ‘em type of guy” when that first alarm goes off first thing in the morning. I am always the first one up just chomping at the bit to see what the new day will bring.

Of course, being a list type of guy, I usually have most of my day already planned before I go to bed and that normally consists of whatever is left on the “To Do” list I did not complete the prior day in addition to items I think of that I want to complete before the new day is over.

But lately, I must admit there have been days that I would be just as happy to turn that alarm off, pull the bed spread up over my head and say “Forget it world, I’m just not ready for this day to begin.” I would just as easily hit that snooze button or in my case – merely change the time the alarm is set to go off to allow for another hour of sleep.

Is it because I have passed the ripe old age of 76 and am heading into becoming an octogenarian? Just the thought of that makes me think of a quote by Mark Twain who said “Life would be infinitely happier if we could only be born at the age of eighty and gradually approach eighteen.”  But now that I think of it – Nah, I think I will pass on that thought and just accept where and what I am right now.

I guess it is natural for one to have concerns about the changes we see happening, not only to our bodies as we get older, but to our brains as well. Take the daily “To-Do” list I usually prepare each morning. I can think of quite a few things I should place on that list – but knowing that I am not getting any younger – in reality, I place things on the list that I want to do.

Let’s face it, a lot of things require a bit more thinking these days as to not only what to do but whether or not it actually needs being done in the first place and if it does – the question also arises – but must it be done right now? I am the same way with various books I have laying around the house. Some I have started and never got back to – others I haven’t even started yet. At the time I obtained them, I am sure I had every intention of reading them and absorbing the knowledge contained therein. But now – well – the fad has passed. Now they are merely dust collectors.

Getting old can be a pain. One can be fortunate however, if what I briefly described above are the only concerns one has during this, the aging process. While I have had my problems some years back with certain health issues, for the most part I lead an active and fairly healthy  lifestyle. But even so, as one ages we do find that this “getting old” stuff can create changes in our lifestyle.

As we get older, things tend to take a little longer to do. You know, like getting up out of the recliner after sitting for an hour or two. Or going to the grocery store or mall and looking for your car once done shopping. Both our bodies and the old grey matter isn’t working as fast as we have become accustomed to in the past which seems like just a few short years ago!

Some things – our capability to rise from a chair like a normal person instead of a decrepit old fart that hasn’t exercised a day in his life or bending over to pick something up from the floor (bending down may not be such a problem but coming back up – whoa there big fella – now that is another story!) causes us to stop and pause and utter the words – when did I get old? Feeling the blood pulsing through the veins in my skull and listening to my heart rapidly pumping the blood through my veins upon becoming vertical once again isn’t the music I had intentions of hearing at this stage of my life.

Fact is – as we become older – we change as does our bodies. By acknowledging those changes, accepting them, and making allowances for same, one can continue to enjoy life.  Besides who would want to go back to any time in our past – remember in going back – at some point  we will also have to move forward once again and I am sure that there are some years during that interim that we wouldn’t want to relive all over again. I can think of a few myself.

Best thing to do is to accept whatever changes we may incur within our bodies and our minds as we grow older and accept those changes with the same viewpoint as we have done over our present life span. After all, we made it this far – why change a good thing!

retirees

Until next time.

 

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Aging Process Then & Now!

  1. This is a great post. Personally I love the fact that I have the freedom to get up, sleep, eat or not eat and most of all not watch the clock.

    I get up when I feel like it and sleep when I feel like it, I listen to what my body is telling me because it knows me well. The thought of an alarm clock going off 😬

    John is a little bit similar to you, maybe it’s a man thing, he says that he likes a sense of purpose, he’s a reader, doer of things.

    Me, I prefer peace without pressure to do anything 😉

Leave a Reply

