What’s the Word?

writing

I would like to say that it has been hard for me to compose any type of article recently, be it for this site or my other writing website due to our nation’s current state of affairs, but truth be told, when it comes to the news and certain other items, I am like the ostrich that buries his or her head in the sand.

We all know that this metaphor is an untrue statement. The reality of the saying is that the person is ignoring obvious facts or refusing to accept advice, hoping that simply denying the existence of a problem will make it go away. Our nation’s current state of affairs is not going to go away. And to be quite frank, nothing I am going to do during the year 2017 or the next four years is going to change that.

But that is not to say that we as individuals (specifically senior citizen retirees) should just “bury our head in the sand” and ignore the fact that while we may not like where the country is heading, we still have a lot of living to do. As a matter of fact, even though we are now past the mid-point of February, it is early enough in the year that I am still considering what one might call my list of resolutions and good intentions. I just prefer to identify with them in a different manner.

Years ago I was involved with a group that chose a “given” word as the word they would most like to – how shall I say this – pursue throughout the upcoming year as their word of the year.  Words like – Accept, Connect, Pursue, come to mind as they all relate to things we do in our everyday lives as seniors enjoying our current lifestyles. There are many things we tend to accept (case in point – our current state of affairs when it comes to our nation), connect (not getting any younger, many of us plan to connect or quite possibly re-connect with both friends/  relatives while we still can), and pursue, meaning we will start that diet, begin an exercise program, and so forth and so on.

But for the year 2017, choosing a word of the year, leastways for me, is similar to making New Year’s resolutions. And I usually shy away from making them because I never follow through with them anyway. And while I do sit down, pencil in hand at the beginning of each new year and vow to eat less (or eat healthier food), walk at least 30 minutes a day a minimum of five days a week, clean out my office, clean out our storage room, and so forth, the one thing that keeps coming to mind as I think of these words is that, hey – I am still “a work in progress!” Nothing is set in stone and if thinking of a word will help me accomplish that which I still hope to do – why not?

Having figured that out, the word I am choosing for 2017 as my “Word of the year” is Achieve. Achieve means to successfully bring about or reach a desired objective, level, or result by effort, skill, or courage. Why bother having a list of New Year resolutions when thinking about one word can work subconsciously as I think of it each time I begin to eat, exercise, clean or whatever happens to be on my plate for any given day.

For instance, passing up having that donut when I go to Saturday morning coffee and donuts will show that I am achieving my objective of eating less or at least not eating something filled with sugar and too many calories.

In addition to our line dancing four days a week, by making it a point to go for my morning walks which, by the way is an excellent way to start your day as it makes everything seem so much clearer as to what must be accomplished, I will be achieving my objective of exercising more, thus staying physically fit.

The challenge, if there is one in this whole scenario, is making the time in our busy lives to do the other things I want to achieve in 2017, i.e., the cleaning up of the office, storage area, and other “need to be done” items that aren’t at the top of my “to do” list but should be.  So, therein lies my challenge for 2017 and while some may say at age 76 looking forward to turning 77 later this year, why is this of such a concern to you – fact is, it is thinking and planning like this as to what we intend to do with our time is what, in my humble opinion, keeps us going.

Fact is, if it weren’t for my having these things bug me when I let them slide, I could probably become a couch potato and my guess is that I would eventually look like a “rolly polly” old fart that didn’t know the first thing about keeping himself in shape and eventually my health would deteriorate, I would become depressed, and who would write these posts making sure I keep you all on your toes as well. So, with that confession in hand, I guess I had best get to work and not only draft a schedule of things I need to do – but will also include a schedule outlining times for me to sit down and write (one of my most favorite times of any day).

Oh, by the way, should anyone have something they would like me to either comment on or write about, please feel free to share your thoughts with me and I will do my best to see what I can do. Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Routine, Senior Moments, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s the Word?

  1. Having aims keeps us going.
    Dancing sounds fun ..four times a week..would love to hear your fun and games of dancing..

    Sometime i turn blind to whats going in the uk…and usa. Sometimes a listen and take it as a big warning am i ready for my judgement day… am i doing enough charitable acts to be on the right side of karma……there are many signs that say to be am i on the right side of karma…

  2. eliza rudolf says:

    Well ✒ penned👍👌

Leave a Reply

