Is It Over Yet?

crazy-guy-69

Isn’t this craziness over yet – I am referring to the upcoming election. I am not one that usually writes about religion or politics because I have my own thoughts on both subjects and they are just that – “my thoughts,” and not something I discuss or write about.

However, in my attempt to write a small piece using today’s daily word prompt, I thought I would have a bit of fun with it.

Wikipedia – Hyperbole is the use of exaggeration as a rhetorical device or figure of speech. In rhetoric, it is also sometimes known as auxesis (lit. “growth”). In poetry and oratory, it emphasizes, evokes strong feelings, and creates strong impressions.

A hyperbole is an unreal exaggeration to emphasize the real situation.

Looking at this whole political process and what each candidate is espousing – it appears to me that the “hyperbole” applicable is:

“I am trying to solve a million issues these days.”

In all seriousness – even though this particular blog posting makes jest of the upcoming election, let me just say that I hope everyone reading it will get out and vote for the candidate of your choice as it is our right to do so and we should elect to do it during every election period. Until next time!

    until-next-time

https://dailypost/wordpress.com/prompts/hyperbole

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in The Future, Word Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is It Over Yet?

  1. HI Irwin, so me in the uk thinking watching all the games of the usa election.. man it has got ugly … we shall soon see what the result will be.

    The uk brexit became a tad ugly before but worse once vote was cast.. i feel we all heading for rocky days ahead on both sudes of the pond.

    Lord gives strenght.

  2. Sue says:

    Funny…as soon as I saw the word ‘hyperbole’, I also thought of the election that you guys are facing, but I thought it best to stay quiet on the matter, though each Trump and Clinton have used their fair share of examples.

  3. iglengel says:

    Thanks for the comments. RIght, wrong, or indifferent, out of 350 million people, one would have thought we could have ended up with much better choices for both parties.

  4. I like you don’t like to post regarding political issues. But I do fear the future…… 😬

Leave a Reply

