Senior Moments

retirees

Senior moment

An instance in which one is unable to remember something or to focus adequately on the matter at hand, viewed as typical of aging is one way of describing a senior moment.

There are various ways in describing what a senior moment may mean to each of us.

For instance, when taking a trip someplace new – I would be the first one to locate where the bathroom is, not because sometimes during the course of the evening I might have a senior moment and forget where it is. No, in my case it would be more than likely be because I am going to have a senior moment requiring the use of a bathroom and quite often.

Speaking of bathrooms – it would appear that women enjoy their trips to the bathroom when out on the town at a nice restaurant. Why else would they ask one or more of the other ladies at the table whether or not they would like to go to the bathroom with them. In my particular case though, you won’t find me asking the other guy or guys at the table if they would care to join me in going to the bathroom. No. not me. In my particular case, walking to the bathroom is not necessarily an enjoyable thing to do. Making it to the bathroom and saying with a sigh and relief “Made it”, is more my style. Why else would you think I scope it out when out on the town.

Have you realized that the older we get – the more time we spend snuggling with our pillow or pillows than we do that gorgeous creature next to us. My guess is that such an event qualifies as a senior moment, because, at our age, we probably wouldn’t know what to do were we to snuggle with her versus the pillows.

Oh, just thought of another scenario that could be considered a senior moment. Just recently we were about to head to the store when my wife asked me was there anything I needed in the way of groceries. I remembered that I was out of cereal and reminded her that I needed some Shredded Wheat and Bran. No sooner had the words left my mouth when I remembered the commercial we all see now and then – you know the one that says: “You are what you eat!” It was then that the senior moment struck me – Darn – I’m Shredded Wheat and Bran. But, then the good news flashed across my brain as I thought to myself, “Oh well, at least they cannot say I am full of shit!”

Being a senior has it’s good features too. Let’s face it, we seniors are a good source of information. Yup, we seniors are walking warehouses of information – problem is that some of us tend to forget where that warehouse is.

Did you ever wonder why – when watching a couple of seniors having a conversation, they seem to be so happy. It isn’t the conversation they are having, it is the fact that neither one probably hears what the other is saying and they are just being polite by smiling and nodding their heads at each other.

I read a lot of interesting newsletters geared towards seniors. Many of them say that seniors are caring people. We are but not in the sense some people might think. – You see seniors are really caring – you know, we need dental care, health care, vision care, and long-term care. Hey, we are seniors – we need the attention.

Remember the saying: What happens in Vegas – stays in Vegas.” Well, when it comes to seniors – “What goes on behind closed doors stays behind closed doors.” Why – because when it comes to seniors, “nothing, absolutely nothing” goes on behind closed doors!

In checking out the news today, I seen several stories that said or made mention of the fact that seniors support many movements. Reading further, I learned exactly how they did that. By eating bran (Shredded Wheat and Bran in my case), raisins, and prunes.

Another disputed fact about seniors is that they are grouchy individuals. Upon some research into this subject, I found that most seniors are not grouchy – they just do not like waiting in lines, crowded places, noisy kids, traffic (especially during school hours when having to wait behind a school bus dropping kids off), and politicians (but then with our current batch of politicians – who does).

So, while we may, on occasion have our “Senior Moments,” for the most part we are having one heck of a good time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Senior Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Senior Moments

  1. Love your posts they are so funny.

    • iglengel says:

      I get as much of a kick trying to come up with my posts as many of you do while reading them. If I get but one person to laugh or smile at my rants and ramblings, I have done what I set out to do.
      Thanks for following my blog.

  2. This gave me such a laugh this morning, thanks for sharing, there’s nothing like a good laugh to keep you moving 😉😬

  3. Sue says:

    I love your senior thoughts….keep sharing.

  4. This made me laugh so much! Thanks for that! The part about snuggling up with a pillow, and not knowing what to do with “her” if you snuggled up to her, reminded me of the analogy of a mule with a spinning wheel. No one knows how he got it, and danged if he knows what to do with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

