Stumped

instructor question

There are many variations of using the word “Stump” but the one that crossed my mind today was how we sometimes get stumped when attempting to answer a question.

When looking at the word “stump” as a verb, we might think of it as a question or problem that is too hard to solve. For instance, the powers that be who are in charge of education, were themselves stumped by some of the exam questions.

Another way to look at the word stump, especially now with elections right around the corner, would be to hear what our politicians have to say as they travel around the country making speeches or stumping.

But being one that shies away from discussing politics and religion, my article today is going to talk about how we stump individuals with difficult questions. But, I am going to put a twist on it as well.

For instance, here is an age old question that perhaps has stumped one or two people:

“Which came first, the chicken or the egg?”

chicken-or-egg

If we go back to ancient times – this question – the chicken or the egg – also evoked the question of how life and the universe in general began.

This “chicken or egg problem” could also be called a Catch-22 (paradoxical situation from which an individual cannot escape because of contradictory rules).

Some of us can remember a particular Catch-22 situation when we first entered the job market. Remember – to get a job, we needed experience, and to gain experience, you needed to get a job first.

Sort of like our situation today as it pertains to alternative fuels.

If there aren’t sufficient refueling stations, it is not economical for individuals to purchase vehicles using alternative fuels – and the Catch-22 situation here is that if there aren’t a sufficient number of alternative fuel vehicles, it isn’t economical for fuel dealers to open stations providing alternative fuel.

There are and probably always will be pros and cons to the question about the chicken or the egg question as there will always be questions in life that will tend to stump us.And with that all I have to say is that I am going to stump on out of here.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/stump

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Word Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stumped

  1. True George says:

    you know someone who believe in god will say the chicken was first because it was created just like man. Adam was never a baby…..

  2. iglengel says:

    You are probably right. Thanks for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

