You can’t have your cake and eat it (too)

Today’s word prompt made me think of the above popular English idiomatic figure of speech.

What this proverb literally means is that one cannot simultaneously retain one’s cake and eat it.

Lately I am finding this to be true with many of the things on my “bucket” list. Take this blog for instance, I say I want it to become part of my daily or weekly routine  (posting my comical wit – probably once, maybe twice a week) but then there are the other things in our life that I allow to take precedence over blogging.

I love to write wild and crazy things and mention quotable quotes because (1) I love to see or hear people laugh and (2) I love to quote meaningful quotes as they tend to uplift people’s spirits.

It’s funny now that I am the age I am, there are many times I remind myself that – hey I am not a young whipper-snapper any more. I should be able to do what I want, when I want. If that means sitting down in front of the boob tube for several hours in the evening, well, so be it.

But then the ‘intelligent’  side of my brain kicks in and says – but hey, wait a minute – think about what you just said – “you are not a young whipper-snapper” anymore. You are not getting any younger. If you don’t pursue what you truly want to do now – when are you going to do it – a year from now, five years from now, ten years? I don’t think so!

While blogging is fun, it is also work. But that work can be fun too, especially when I think about what it is that I want to blog about. I love the research and the writing not to mention seeing the final product once I have posted something. So, something has got to give!

It is amazing at our age how we tend to drift from one subject/project to another in such a haphazard way. I sat down at this computer to begin the online course from Word Press – Learning the Fundamentals of Blogging (when all else fails – go back to square one). But in doing so, my mind also wandered to the Word Press Daily Word Prompt I have been following and joining in when it so moves me. Long story short, one thing led to another and here I am writing a post about today’s word prompt – Cake!

Conclusion – looking at the caption of this blog post, one could also say: “a person cannot have things both ways” or “we cannot have the best of both worlds.”

So, now would be a good time to make blogging once a week part of my weekly routine because – well, when I wasn’t looking – someone ate my cake!

cake

http://dailypost.wordpress.comprompts/cake

 

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Word Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You can’t have your cake and eat it (too)

Leave a Reply

