Obviously, I’m Confused

The Obvious

The word obvious is defined as something easily perceived or understood. Another definition would be making reference to something that is predictable and lacking in subtlety. After looking at my WordPress account, specifically the number of posts I have managed to write in the month of August, it is quite obvious to me that the Word Press word prompts have apparently re-ignited my desire to write once again.

Taking this one step further, learning how to include images pertaining to some of the things I have written sparked me even more in that I found it to be both challenging and fun, not only in my attempt to write a piece based on and pertaining to the word of the day but also to include various funny little images that sort of complimented the point I was trying to make.

However, while I must admit, it has been fun, I find myself longing for time to write other articles not necessarily linked to the daily word prompt.  So, with that thought in mind, perhaps in the future, I may just incorporate the daily word prompt into whatever article I was contemplating writing. Some days, it may just be based on the daily word prompt while others may be to tell a story, or discuss a point that may pertain to our retirement life

What is not so obvious is whether I categorize the article under the Category of “Word Prompts” or one of the other categories I tend to write about.  We shall see.

confused

It is completely obvious to me, for instance, whenever I pass the bookcase we built to hold many old pictures sorted by name, and so forth (the intention was to eventually create photo albums while we may still know where the picture was taken as well as who is in them), that I should be taking time to complete this project.  Reason being – how shall I put this – “time waits for no man” – meaning that this is a project we should move to the top of our priority list. After all, we are not getting any younger!

 time waits for no man

Different subject – Seeing that we have introduced new dances to our line dance group when we felt it was time to do so, now that we are back to dancing, it should have been obvious that sooner or later one of our students was going to ask the question: “Are you planning on teaching us any new dances this year?”  Such a question was asked this past Tuesday and so, obviously, we will be introducing a new dance – probably beginning next week.

new line dance

Thinking of other ways to satisfy today’s word prompt was to think up quotes that have incorporated the word within them. In doing so, one of my favorite detective stories came to mind and I am referring of course to a quote from “Sherlock Holmes” as he quoted in The Hound of the Baskervilles:

“The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”

Sherlock Holmes

 To conclude this piece because I feel like I am beginning to ramble on, let me just say this – when, if not during our retirement years, is it so obvious that we still have so much to do and so little time to do it!

Until next time!

https:dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/obvious

 

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Passions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

