What Drives You?

When one thinks of the word “drive” several thoughts probably come to mind – the route one takes to work in the morning, or another connotation of the word drive could be – what “drive” he has, I guess that is why he became CEO of his company at an early age.

For me though, when I think of the word “drive” it usually sparks my memory into thinking about a particular trip we may have made in the past such as the time we drove to Vancouver or when we drove to the border of Mexico and walked across the border as we did not want to take our car across because our insurance did not cover us in Mexico.

Driving in Europe was an interesting experience as many of their mountain roads do not have guardrails and their roads are much narrower than ours are. Unfortunately I did not volunteer to drive in England during that wonderful trip or I would have had the experience of driving on the other side of the road. We traveled with another couple and he did the driving in England and I drove the mountainous roads.

Looking at “Drive” from another perspective though, the only “Drive” I have had in my life that did not particularly make reference to a road trip was the “drive” I had to raise my family and get them through school so that they could face the world and hopefully enjoy the many interesting adventures we have been through.

But, now that I think of it, I do remember another “drive” I had and that was the “Drive” to achieve my CPCU® designation. As described by Wikipedia – Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) is a professional designation in property-casualty insurance and risk management. The CPCU designation is held by just over 2% of all those employed in the insurance industry in the United States, and is widely considered the premier designation in the property and casualty insurance industry.

The program consists of various courses, such as: foundation courses, courses that concentrate on either, personal lines insurance or commercial lines insurance and those taking the program are also able to choose one elective course as well. All this must be passed but can be passed in any order.

Some individuals complete the program in a very short time, while others may take a longer time dependent upon other life events. My achievement of the designation found me part of the latter group of individuals due to having some problems with two of the course subjects, namely, Accounting and Economics.

However, I had the “Drive” to see it through and have had my CPCU® designation now as well as several others achieved along the way since 1984. One of the best decisions of my life!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/drive

 

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Drives You?

  1. Sue says:

    Was offline for awhile & missed all of these great posts. Congrats on your designation! What an achievement:-).

Leave a Reply

