Cowardice

Today’s word, “cowardice” is a rough challenge in that most of us would not place ourselves anywhere near the term for fear of stigmatizing not only ourselves but those near and dear to us as well.

Upon seeing this word “cowardice”, https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/cowardice

I looked up not only the definition but a quote as well: “A coward is a hero with a wife, kids, and a mortgage.” – Marvin Kitman

Thinking back over my life reminds me of a situation we were faced with many years ago that required us picking up and moving 1200 miles away leaving friends and family. This story may or may not relate but alow me to make my point and then you be the judge.

Is the individual holding down a good job, drawing a decent salary, has a loving wife, great kids, a mortgage, bills to pay –  a “hero” or a “coward” for accepting the job or a “hero” or a “coward” for turning down the job?

The new job will require more responsibilities, a larger mortgage, the unknowns of moving to a different state, and uprooting his wife and children. All this to move up the corporate ladder!

Now, one could look at all these as good things and say he is a hero for accepting the challenge.

On the other hand, should he turn down the offer, one might consider him the “coward”. After all, in declining the offer, is he not declaring that he is quite content in living his “so-so” life?

Makes one think, doesn’t it?

Is he a hero or coward to his children? After all, he is moving them, say, clear across the country – uprooting them from their familiar surroundings and friends!

And what about his wife? What about her needs? Perhaps she works outside the house too. How will she view his decision – that of a hero providing more for them, or that of a coward for only thinking of himself first and not the needs of the family as a whole?

Hero or coward, I could go on but my point here is merely this: Life is not always black or white – hero or coward. Into our lives some grey must fall.I would say that the true coward is the one that doesn’t face his fears. The individual that does face his fears and and upon doing so moves on taking into consideration all factors involved becomes the hero.

In doing so, each of us must give it our all and do our best to find a solution that is compatible to all.

Hopefully we will all be heroes not cowards in the end.

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site ā€“ remember ā€“ retirement is not the destination we are seeking ā€“ it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cowardice

  1. I have found that we are all have the hero and coward kinds of behavior in us depending on the circumstances. And that every once in awhile we can surprise ourselves and everyone else with some heroic choice we did not believe ourselves capable of making.

    A nicely done essay that I enjoyed very much. šŸž

  2. Oh, I forgot to ask. Did you take the career move? šŸž

  3. Sue says:

    Nice story! I gather it all turned out okay. I say one’s a hero for even considering the needs and thoughts of others. Not all operate from that standpoint. I enjoyed reading this look into things:-).

Leave a Reply

