2016

Now that we are into our third full week of 2016 I am up to trying new things and basically not reflecting much on the past. I use this analogy because from my standpoint I tend to constantly remind myself of things I should have done – what I intend to do – and basically things that truly haven’t worked all that well in 2015.

My intentions therefore for 2016 are to not only come up with new things to try, but also different things to tackle. My overall goal is to improve my style of writing as well moving forward into this new year of 2016.

Recently we were at our line dance practice and I had slipped out of class to use the bathroom. As I was walking down the hall, a member of the clubhouse staff asked “Are you learning line dancing?” I didn’t have the heart to tell her I have been line dancing now since 2005 and so I merely responded, “Yes I am!”

Her response was “Good for you – you are going to be a chick magnet!” Little did she know though that there are two good reasons why I have no intention of becoming a chick magnet! First is I am and have been happily married for almost 53 years and second having lived past the age of 75, I do not need to add stress to my life. I like things just the way they are in that department.

As we get older, they say many of us get out our bucket list and start attending to those things we want to accomplish or do before we die. To be quite frank, I never really prepared such a list as I cannot think of anything I really want to do before I die. But then the reason for that may be that I am just glad that I wake up every day being able to put both feet on the floor and take in all that the world still has to offer me.

However, one thing that hasn’t changed and one that I am trying my best to wrap my head around is what to write about on a weekly basis. I have been reading the newspaper every morning now and notice that if I were to write about the news – I could probably come up with quite a few debatable articles. Likewise, there are always present-day stories that I could write about. And thinking back as to how I originally got into this blogging habit, I could write about retirement and the contentment one can find if they but search for it.

Things I do not particularly want to write about are health or financial issues basically because I am by no means an expert in either of these two areas nor do I wish to spend my time learning about them which is what I would have to do in order to write about them.

And then there is my funny side – something that I do enjoy doing although truth be told, if asked, I am sure that many people would say that I am not such a funny guy.

In any case as I may have mentioned in an earlier blog – I do intend to re-style my blogs this year and also make it a point to post one blog a week (probably on a Monday morning to start) to see if I make it a part of my routine. I know – it is now Monday evening and so I am late already.

My reasons for picking funny items to write about are several:  One is that I enjoy a good laugh and try to do so every morning, preferably before we ever leave the house and two because with all the negativity in the world today, I am of the opinion that we should be more upbeat and positive in 2016.

Let’s face it – if we spend more time doing fun things and not worrying about what is going on in the rest of the world, who knows – we may even wake up to the fact that most people are more interested in what is going on in their own lives and really don’t give a darn about you and what is going on in yours. Knowing that – who knows – you yourself might start enjoying your life again and 2016 might very well be better than what 2015 was.

Being retired and for the most part happy with the cards I have been dealt, my basic goal in writing this blog is to share with you, my readers, some of the fun things we get to do in our golden years. So, with that thought in mind, I hope you have a great year and that reading my ramblings provides you some entertainment, brings a smile to your face and depending on what I have written about, a good healthy laugh or two. One thing is certain and that is we are all in the same boat once we retire.

The trick is to figure out what makes us happy and hopefully pursue that dream or goal enjoying life as we go. When reading my blog(s), should you have any suggestions or thoughts about what you might like to see me write about, send me your thoughts and if at all possible I will do my best to comply with your wishes.

In closing allow me to share the following quote with you – “”Don’t wait. The time will never be just right.” – Napoleon Hill

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2016

  1. It occurs to me that this must be what those of us with websites do around this time of the year. Along with New Year’s resolutions, we must also consider our websites. Creating always fresh and hopefully readable content. I have been casting about for several weeks on what to do with JoHannaMassey.com for 2016…even next week.
    All my best to you for this New Year.

Leave a Reply

