Happy New Year

While it hasn’t been all that long since I posted anything new to this blog of mine, truth be told I have been keeping up with another blog site, specifically retirement-online.com. Truth is that while I could come up with several excuses for not posting here – fact-of-the-matter is that writing on many days has become more of a chore than a passion. A chore I have been contemplating giving up on.

But, then when I do step back from our somewhat active and busy lifestyle – the desire to write returns and I realize that if anyone is to make this work – it has to be me.

Ever since I began blogging several years ago I have been challenged with regards defining what my specific “niche” is or even should be. After reading and following various blog postings of other bloggers – the light bulb finally went on. Blogging is and should be about what I personally want it to be and to me, that means a return to writing about the things I consider important or in some instances wild and crazy things that bring a smile to not only my face but the faces of my readers.

Writing about what is going on in my life is not really my style although I must admit on occasion I do post something that we did that I feel others would enjoy hearing about.

I like many others, typically make one or more New Year’s resolutions and as has been the case more years than I care to remember, I usually fail to keep those resolutions because we typically set the bar too high.

So, I am going to try something new this year not that it is new to many others that have decided to follow a different course of action pertaining to New Year’s Resolutions. Rather than creating a bunch of New Year’s Resolutions during this year of 2016, I am going to focus on one word and use that one word to guide me through this new year. Hopefully by  focusing on one word, perhaps I can accomplish all that I hope to in this new year.

The word I am going to claim as my word for the year 2016 is going to be “muse.”  According to Merriam-Webster:

Muse suggests a more or less focused daydreaming as in remembrance <mused upon childhood joys>.

At my age, I prefer not to get involved with “deep thinking” and let’s face it, most of today’s news whether it be on the Television, Radio, Newspaper, and even Facebook – is usually doom and gloom type news and repetition. What you are told or read about at 8 AM is the same data being fed to us at noon, five o’clock, and the evening news we see before going to bed. Who needs all that negativity? I know I certainly do not.

I intend to focus on daydreaming and coming up with wild and crazy posts involving useless information – you know those things that tend to bring a smile to our face in spite of all the doom and gloom being printed and talked about on other forms of media today.

Fact of the matter is for those of us that refuse to allow the front pages of our newspapers, or the news commentaries on our television sets dictate our view of the world, life does go on.

So, since it is now 2016, I am looking forward to new beginnings. Remember the old saying – “Old habits die hard!” In order to rid ourselves of certain habits that we no longer find acceptable to our current or future life styles, one must invest considerable effort into ridding ourselves of those old useless habits. So, as we move forward in the year 2016, this will be the year that will serve as the Phoenix rising from the ashes:

Our passions are the true phoenixes; when the old one is burnt out, a new one rises from its ashes. -Johann von Goethe

Out with the old and in with the new. Live for today! Be happy! Accept what is! Improve our mind and body! Think positive and try our best to be more agreeable! Take responsibility for our own actions!

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Applaud for Daydreaming. Don’t be so quick to dismiss it’s value though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

