Back to dancing and walking

MY VIEW OF THE WEEK

Of the various quotes I read this week, once again two of them sort of stand out with regards where I consider myself to be at this time in my life.

The first quote is one that is representative of the way my life has been for more years than I care to admit to. But, lately I am more inclined to lean the other way and by that I mean that I am starting to run my day versus the other way around. Here is the quote: “Either you run the day or the day runs you.” – Jim Rohn

Fortunately there were two that struck a chord within me this week and the words contained within the second quote pretty much explain the way I have felt for quite a few years now. “Until you make peace with who you are, you’ll never be content with what you have.” – Doris Mortman

It has taken a few years but in essence, I have learned that I am the one that is in charge of what I do on a daily basis and if I want to get the things done that top my list of priorities, I have to be the one in charge of running my day.

Also, at times I find myself thinking back to some of the homes we have had in the past – saying to myself – “Gee wouldn’t it be nice if we still owned that home and could be living in it instead of where we are”……… but then “the bubble bursts and I wake up and say to myself – “but what would be different?”

Okay, you would have a big beautiful house but stop and think – it doesn’t end there. With that big house comes a big mortgage payment, costlier insurance, more maintenance, a bigger tax payment and so forth and so on. On the other hand, I know what I have and have applied myself accordingly and all is working out just fine. We are not wanting for anything, my bills get paid on time, food is in the house, a roof is over our head, and more importantly we have our health. Bottom line is I have made peace with myself and am quite content with what I have at this particular moment in time. That in and of itself is something that makes our lives work better.

Finally some good news to report as the rain has finally slowed down some. Our economy in Polk County should get a huge boost in the near future as Amazon is constructing a 1 million-square-foot facility in Lakeland that will serve as a distribution center. Once completed, Amazon will have two huge distribution centers in the state of Florida, the Lakeland facility and one that is also under construction in Ruskin, FL.

We, ourselves, continue to take life one day at a time. At the moment both of us are enjoying good health and we are making sure we exercise at least 45 minutes each day. When it comes to exercise we get it by means of our line dancing which we do five days a week. Fortunately even though we are a little tired when those forty-five minutes are over, it does make us feel better and we find we have a bit more energy upon returning home.

Myself, I have committed to walking a minimum of two miles a day for at least six days a week and have been holding to it. It is amazing how much more energy I seem to have compared to the way I felt before I got back into dancing and walking again.

Other than the above, all is quiet on the home front at the moment. As far as what we intend to do for a better tomorrow – nothing different from that which we have been doing as we are happy, healthy for the moment, and no problems facing us that we are aware of.

Life is good!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

