Growing Old!

For whatever reason I am at a point in my life that age and the thought of aging pops in the forefront of my mind quite often. What is the definition of old anyway?

The Definition of old according to some means:

having lived for many years : not young

or the word “old” is used to talk about or ask about a person’s age

What is it about the word “old” that causes such concern today?

Actually coming from a family where most of my aunts and uncles passed before their sixtieth birthday, I never gave much thought to what it might be or even what it meant to be considered “old.” The only person I thought was old was my grandfather and that was probably because he had a beautiful head of white hair.

Although, I must admit that even though I consider myself to be part of the group known today as “old people” I have not changed any of my demeanors nor do I intend to do anything differently from the way I have been performing up to now.

For instance, one of the things I truly enjoy now that I am retired which also goes hand in hand with being old, is that I no longer need to wear a suit and tie which I had to do most of my working career. Should I want to wear shorts and sneakers with merely a T-shirt, I do so. Should I decide to go to dinner in jeans and a polo shirt – okie dokie!

With that thought in mind, now that I am old, I shall clear my closet of those clothes I no longer care to wear and will also surround myself with attire more suitable to my new position in life which is that of being retired – free to do what I wish to do when I want to do it.

Perhaps I’ll buy one last suit if for no reason than to have it hang in my closet as a reminder of days gone by. Even though said suit will merely hang in my closet, at our age, chances are that it will come in handy in the future should one of our close friends or a distant relative pass. But, on a happier note – that same suit would come in handy on formal night on our next cruise! Always gotta think ahead!

Another thought about growing old is that when we grow old we will in all probability pass our hours doing whatever pleases us. Seeing that I prefer to borrow books from the library rather than buy them, being old and retired, I can borrow whatever my limit is and should I only read half of them before the due back date – so be it! While I am not the type to do this as I usually pick up after myself on a daily basis, should I not care to tidy up on a regular basis – who cares? Although I think my honey may have a different opinion on this subject.

Also, should I care to sit at my computer into the wee hours of the morning, I can do so (I normally do not sleep more than 4 or 5 hours anyway once I retire for the evening).   It is my time and place and I can do what I want when I want.

Being one that enjoys line dancing as well as country and western music, when I grow old I shall listen to music that I love. And those of you who attend our line dance classes know that I have been known to belt out a few of the words to various line dance songs on occasion too. The lyrics to “Boot Scootin’ Boogie” as well as the music to “He Drinks Tequila and She Talks Dirty in Spanish flash through my mind! There is nothing more invigorating to a line dancer than to listen to line dance music while doing chores around the house as it not only keeps us moving but keeps a smile on our face as well.

Being a “wannabe writer,” when I grow old, I will get up in the middle of the night when I cannot sleep and go to my computer and write whatever comes into my mind. With regards writing, one of the things that is cool about growing old is that old people should be allowed to write whatever we truly believe in and do so without worrying what other people think of us.

I shall write short stories, poems, essays, and memoirs whenever the mood strikes me. One of the neat things about being considered old is that I can jot my feelings down and sort of let it all hang out. With all the negative things we hear and read about today, one thing that writing does is, it lets us unload our feelings about those subjects. Feelings based on what we truly believe in! Knowing that others also have their own opinions that may not coincide with mine, I will be the first to acknowledge that in some instances, I may have to gracefully agree to disagree.

Bottom line is that once we cross that certain “age” threshold we should be able to – within reason – do what we want when we want. Isn’t growing old fun? Aren’t you glad you are part of this group of individuals? I know we are.

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

