Improve!

My word for the year 2015 is: “Improve”.

The dictionary definition of improve is to grow better; to make better; to increase value of, as a piece of land, by erecting buildings on it.

There are several different ways one can interpret the meaning of improve. For me, I can think of several areas of my life that I would like to improve.

  • Improve physically. While I attempt to stretch every day and line dance at least two days a week, I know deep down in my heart that my body needs more exercise than just these two forms. Supposedly the human body loses 1% of muscle with each year once we attain the age of 30. Being 74 heading towards 75, fact of the matter is, I need to improve upon my current exercise program.
  • Improve mentally. I know for a fact that I watch too much television. I love to read but say I do not have time to read when the reality of it is I should replace an hour or two of my television time with an hour or two reading time. In that manner, two things would be improved upon – I would spend less time in front of the television, and I would improve my mental status by reading and gaining whatever knowledge I can from the written word. Another thought just occurred to me and that is to literally learn something new in 2015.
  • Improve my environment. I have been thinking about many areas of our house that need improvement and 2015 might just be the year I plan to take care of them.

So, since my word for 2015 is improve and have already begun the process by outlining some of the things I hope to improve upon, next step is to uncover more of this path I chose to follow in this New Year. To say one wants to improve is merely but a generalization of what most of us do at the beginning of a New Year. Now, however, I must get down to the “nitty gritty” or meat of the situation which is to be a bit more specific as to what it is I hope to accomplish in 2015 and then make it happen.

If I am lucky, utilizing this word for the entire year, I may just find what it is I have been searching for in order to dream up posts for this blog. So, it looks as though my homework for the next few days is to focus on the word and see how I can improve both myself and this blog.

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

