Read me next! Senior Moments!!!!!!

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.”

– Buddha

I am having a bit of a problem today maneuvering around this website. During my adventure seeing and re-visiting the few blogs I posted here since I started, I seen that two of the posts were practically identical and as such I decided to remove the one. But that would have left this page blank and far be it for me to do such a thing.

Therefore, even though I have not, as yet, figured out how to make it known that the article in question (this one) is different from that which my audience (if there are any readers of my rants and raves out there) already read, I decided to entitle this particular post “Read me next!” Here goes:

Senior Moments

Okay, we have all had them – senior moments! But once you reach a certain age, they tend to be more often than those we experienced earlier in our lives. Problem? Not necessarily – it depends on how you go with the flow.

Take for instance the senior moment wherein “You’ve accidentally opened your outgoing mail.” Hmmm, perhaps you need to re-look at that piece of mail. Is it a letter wherein you may have said something in haste or perhaps now that you have reopened the mail, you realize that you forgot to say something you meant to say when you first sat down to write. Problem solved. In reality, it isn’t a senior moment – as Bill Engvall would say “Show me a sign!” which was done.

Or “You have a recurring nightmare that your children are putting you in a home where you will be fed nothing but tapioca pudding and Jello. Perhaps this senior moment is telling you to be nicer to your children than you have been in the past. Remember, as we get older and start losing or mixing up our marbles – our children will be the ones trying to decide what to do with us.

Let’s take a look at another senior moment – one involving others not quite as near and dear to you. Remember, at our age we are told to be aware of scams and not talk to strangers, well not to worry – another senior moment finds you actually inviting door-to-door (do they even exist anymore) salesmen into your home because you enjoy the company. Fortunately, my wife and I still have each other – but what about those that are all alone. Company of any kind may sound good.

Here is another senior moment for us to think about – Why is it the senior citizens in television commercials look thirty years younger than we do? But then let’s face it they have all those behind the scenes makeup artists just waiting to make them look that good. Us, we comb our hair, brush our teeth, try to make sure we have matching socks on and out the door we go.

Oh, I just thought of another senior moment we find endearing now that we are older. When we go to the Post Office or Bank nowadays we find ourselves hoping to find a long line so we will have something to do for the next thirty minutes or so. What – so you don’t like company – even if it isn’t within the confines of our own home? My bad!

And where would we seniors be without being able to ask for a senior citizen discount at our favorite fast food restaurant. My particular thought regarding this senior moment is that being as active as we are, when visiting a fast food restaurant we normally do not frequent, I actually tend to forget to ask about the discount. Duh! Is that a “senior moment” or what?

Well, those are my funnies for the day. If just one of you reading this got even a small chuckle, you made my day. For a day without at least one burst (no matter how small) of laughter, is like a day without sunshine.

Until next time!

About iglengel

Welcome to my blog: I retired in September of 1996 after twenty-five years as an Underwriting Manager (and one year with a smaller insurance company) and have written blog postings on the website Retirement-online.com prior to setting up this Word Press free site. Having retired almost twenty years ago I have experienced my own retirement transition. I survived and you will too. Oddly enough, now that I have more time, I am discovering various things about myself that I would not have imagined myself doing in retirement. Why does it take so long for, we as individuals, to stop and think about ME!? Join me as I share with you some of the shenanigans we have been up to since retiring. Retirement is and can be a whole lot of fun. Welcome to my site – remember – retirement is not the destination we are seeking – it is the journey! I encourage you to visit often, provide comments, ask questions and add your own insights. We are all on this journey together.
This entry was posted in Senior Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Read me next! Senior Moments!!!!!!

  1. I’m sooooo senior that clerks, waitresses, and cashiers always give me a senior discount! No need on my part to remember anymore.

Leave a Reply

